Intel 14nm Skylake Processors To Feature PCIe 4, DDR4 Memory and SATA Express

Intel 14nm Skylake Processors To Feature PCIe 4, DDR4 Memory and SATA Express

We know that Intel’s Haswell-E
“HEDT” platform will bring quad channel DDR4 memory functionality in 2H
of 2014 but what about the mainstream LGA115* lineup?. From previous reports we know that Intel would release their Haswell Refresh platform for the desktop market while Broadwell micro architecture would be limited to Xeon and Mobility parts.

Intel Skylake 14nm Processors Feature PCIe 4, SATA Express and DDR4

Only in 2015 would the mainstream LGA 115* lineup get the first 14nm
Skylake processors which bring some interesting new features. While
Broadwell is a die shrink of Haswell built on a 14nm process and
featuring a Gen8 integrated GPU, Skylake would be built around a totally
new 14nm process design as an update over the Tri-gate architecture. Skylake would feature the latest
Gen9 integrated HD graphics along with the being the first main-stream
platform to get Dual channel DDR4 memory functionality. Haswell-E and
Skylake would be the only two desktop platforms with native support for
DDR4 memory from Intel and would ditch the much older DDR3.

Other than DDR4 memory, Skylake would also feature PCIe 4.0
functionality which doubles the bandwidth over PCIe 3.0 but it is known
that no GPU currently takes benefit from the extra bandwidth available on PCIe 3.0 or even 2.0 so only if NVIDIA’s Maxwell
requires massive bandwidth from the PCIe 4.0 slots would we see any
real time performance benefit. Skylake would also get SATA Express
functionality which has  a bandwidth of around 10-16 GB/s enhancing the
transfer speeds of hard drives and SSDs. Intel’s Skylake would feature the latest AVX 3.2 instructions
over AVX 2.0 in current Haswell processors. The new micro architecture
would launch in the first half of 2015 and would replace the Haswell refresh platform that arrives for desktop PCs next year.

Intel is also planning to release a new HEDT platform for the LGA 2011
socket in Q3 2013 codenamed Ivy Bridge-E. The Core i7-4800 and Core
i7-4900 series processors would bring new enhancements and a 22nm
architecture. More details can be found here.

Add a Comment